The comedy kingpin who conquered ‘Beat the Frog World Series’

In a night of fierce competition, Australian comedian Peter Jones triumphed at the 2023 Beat the Frog World Series, held at Manchester's iconic Frog and Bucket comedy club.

In a night filled with laughter, creativity, and competitive humour, Australian comedian Peter Jones emerged victorious at the 2023 Beat the Frog World Series.

The event, held at Manchester’s iconic Frog and Bucket comedy club on Monday, November 6th, showcased some of the most promising comedic talents from across the globe.

Beat The Frog World Series

The final, hosted by former winner Brennan Reece, was the culmination of a month-long journey, comprising five heats where comedians vied for the coveted title.

Among the finalists, Northern Irish comedian Daniel McCreanor secured the runner-up position, while Qasim Akhtar from Bury received the special panel prize.

Beat the Frog, a weekly gong-style new act night, was born out of The Frog’s original amateur night.

It’s a unique and challenging format where each performer strives to entertain the audience for a solid five minutes. However, if all three red cards held by the audience are raised during the performance, the act is humorously “croaked” off the stage.

The winners of this event throughout the year are then invited to participate in the prestigious World Series.

The History of The Frog and Bucket Comedy Club

The Frog and Bucket Comedy Club has a rich history of nurturing comedy talent.

Famous comedians like John Bishop, Peter Kay, Johnny Vegas, Jack Whitehall, Sarah Millican, Lee Mack, Jason Manford, Dave Gorman, and Lucy Porter all have roots in the club.

Even the audience members have included comedy royalty, such as Caroline Aherne, who frequently attended the amateur night alongside her husband, New Order’s Peter Hook.

Past winners of the Beat the Frog World Series have achieved significant success in the comedy industry.

Notable names include Dan Tiernan, who went on to win the BBC New Comedy Award in 2020 and received a Best Newcomer nomination at the Edinburgh Comedy Awards for his debut show at the Edinburgh Festival Fringe.

Other successful alumni include Sam Gore, Rob Mulholland, Carl Hutchinson, and Kathryn Mather, who have all made their mark on the comedy circuit.

The Frog and Bucket comedy club has a storied history, with its first incarnation in 1994 above The Britannia pub in Manchester.

Its popularity led to a move just a year later to its current dedicated premises in the Northern Quarter district of the city centre.

Today, David’s daughter, Jessica Toomey, leads this Manchester institution as it approaches its 30th anniversary.

The 2023 Beat the Frog World Series was a night to remember, showcasing both seasoned and emerging comedic talent.

With Peter Jones taking the crown and other exceptional comedians making their mark, this year’s event continued the club’s tradition of fostering and celebrating comedy excellence.


Manchester is a successful city, but there are many people that suffer. The I Love MCR Foundation helps raise vital funds to help improve the lives and prospects of people and communities across Greater Manchester – and we can’t do it without your help. So please donate or fundraise what you can because investing in your local community to help it thrive can be a massively rewarding experience. Thank you in advance!

Got a story worth sharing?

What’s the story? We are all ears when it comes to positive news and inspiring stories. You can send story ideas to [email protected]

Get the Newsletter
Timeless Reads
Latest News
Upcoming Events