18.9 C
Manchester

People

What makes Manchester so special and unique? That's easy, the beautiful people. Some were born here and some were drawn here - we ask how they have come to love Manchester

12 Questions for Manchester Bees: Anthony Crolla, professional boxer

You don’t need to be into boxing to like Anthony 'Million Dollar' Crolla. I don't know much about the sport, but when I went to...

Phoenix from the flames: the gluten-free Salford brewery that’s going places

Rik Garner is one of Manchester's craft beer pioneers. He jokes that he probably liked beer from too young an age and remembers when he...

From Manchester to Ackley Bridge: meet the actor people mistake for...

Series Two of Grange Hill meets Shameless-style Channel 4 drama Ackley Bridge started last week. Manchester-born Lorraine Cheshire plays Lorraine Bird, Mandy's PA - good at her...

The week in good news: a Manchester hero, a ManVan and...

This week’s good news celebrates sustained effort. A man’s effort to bring water to Syria, a collective pub effort that led to thousands being...

The MasterChef finalist swapping planes for pans at The Rivals restaurant

Having wowed both the judges and viewers with his stunning dishes on BBC’s MasterChef, Stockport-based finalist David Crichton is stepping into the kitchen at...

Get creative at a breast painting workshop for women

No, this isn't another clickbait article. This is a real thing and a real experience and, despite what you may think, it's offering women...

How a heroic Manchester man is bringing water to a war...

Daniel Burke is a man on a mission. The 30 year-old from Wythenshawe has been fighting ISIS with the Kurdish militia in Syria for over...

Farewell Peter Stringfellow – the man behind the Manchester nightclub like...

The phone would ring at around 11pm. The invitation would come - one that would be impossible to refuse. Then I'd shout upstairs to...

A czar is born: Parklife founder named Manchester’s first ever night-time...

The man behind some of the UK's biggest and best music events has been unveiled as Greater Manchester’s first ever night-time economy adviser. Kendal Calling, Warehouse...

Our Emmeline: a new documentary proving “one woman can change everything”

Everybody knows her name. We know bits about her. She lived in Moss Side. She was a wife, a mother, a Mancunian. But in...

Meet the Salford woman hoping to become Britain’s Best Home Cook

Fans of Masterchef and Bake Off will currently be enjoying the camaraderie and great dishes on show on the BBC's current iteration of the...

How a Salford teenager’s play influenced everything from Coronation Street to...

On 27 May 1958, Shelagh Delaney’s debut play A Taste of Honey premiered at Theatre Royal, Stratford East. A down-to-earth and moving story of a...